Review ~ e.l.f. Essential Brightening Eye Color in Drama

I love the smokey eye look, which I think is perfect for photoshoots since it’s a very strong look that the camera can pick up the colors easily. Most of the eyeshadow palettes I use, I have one in my Tarte The Starlet Limited-Edition Makeup Vanity (that I got as a gift from my lovely friends Michelle, Eileen & Mary :3) and a small portable one that I usually bring with me to the photoshoot for touch ups. For some odd reason, I never had a silver/black smokey eye set!

So last time, when I did a minu haul with Eileen during the time they were giving away free mineral brushes, I got one. I chose their Essentials Brightening Eye Color in Drama, which was only $1.

e.l.f. Essential Brightening Eye Color

It’s a quad with a matte white, shimmery silver, shimmery charcol and shimmery black. It comes with a four sided sponge applicator and a tiny mirror that is practically useless. The sponge applicator does pick up color, but it’s not the softest to use so not that easy to blend with it.

one layer

The colors were quite pigmented, though the white didn’t show up as well on my eyelid. The silver made a great highlighter, and the other two worked really well together, creating depth. It’s not velvety, but quite smooth to apply. I think it would’ve been better if I used a primer, but I wanted to test the eyeshadows on their own. It was much easier to apply when I used their mineral all over eye brush.

final eye look

Since the white didn’t show up that well, I mixed in my too faced naked palette’s white shadow and my kate white liner to help highlight the corner of my eyes. As for the bottom, I also mixed in my too faced naked palette’s black to make it darker since the black in the palette wasn’t dark enough for me. However, the colors did blend pretty well together with the right brush. After this shot, I mixed in some Stilla Cloud Shadow.

shot with full face make up

For $1, the lasting power is quite good. I applied around 11:00AM, did a touch up at 4:30 and it lasted throughout the photoshoot (started around 5ish). At the end of the day, the lighter colors were fading, but the darker color had a better staying power. The glitter that was apparent in the palette, wasn’t as apparent on my skin. The color itself looked really nice on my fair warm skin tone, thought I think it would look nice on cool skn as well. It looks like a nice neutral color that would work for any skin tone.

loving it :3

It’s perfect for starting out the smokey eye look, or just to throw into your purse for touch ups and such ^^Since it provided some nice colors (I do love smokey eye looks a lot XD) and the really cheap price, I would definitely rebuy it! 😀 Unless I find another reasonably priced palette that gives a better color pay off for the white. I’m going to try a rimmel one next, and do a comparison ^^

look at the end of the day~

as you can see the darker colors were still apparent at the end of the day, but the white and silver has been faded. this was taken at around 9:30, 5 hours after the last touch ups.

Face
Base – Laura Mercier tinted moisturizer in nude (I should be a porcelain though, but it was a sample)
Blush – Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush in Glory
Bronzer – Mineral Powder Bronzer in Park Avenue Princess and Amazonian Clay Shimmering Powder in Rose

Eyes
e.l.f. Essential Brightening Eye Color in Drama
Too Faced Naked Palette
Stilla eye shadow in Cloud
Eyeliner – Dollywink liquid and pencil
Kate White Pencil Eyeliner
Fiberwig Mascara
Daiso Fake Lashes

Lips
e.l.f. Mineral Mineral Lipstick in Natural Nymph
e.l.f. Studio Matte Lip Color in Coral

OOTD 03.30.2012

My outfit today~ But wore a different one for the shoot ^^ Like my new hair ?

Top and lace shorts – Taiwan
Boots – Forever21
Necklace – Vivenne Westwood
Bracelets – my sister’s XD
Rings – Forever21 and Charlotte Russe

 judyhime chan♥

3 thoughts on “Review ~ e.l.f. Essential Brightening Eye Color in Drama

  1. Does the palette get kind of crumbly? I was thinking about getting a set but I wasn’t sure if the quality would be good (compared to their other sets)

    The pics you took without your bangs are a nice change – feels very refreshing ^^ I hope you’ll have time to share your other pics from your photo shoot and lol don’t try to trick me with that wig!

    • hmm now that i looked closely at it, the white seems to start cracking/get a bit crumbly. i think it’s good to play with colors to see what colors suits you since it’s only $1, but not if you’re really serious about a color, i would get a better set. i got it to just use as touch ups XD i’m going to order these rimmel ones that i heard has good color pay off and its pretty cheap, i’ll talk to you on chat if i see you online ^^

      thank you! my friend said the same thing about how refreshing it is to see my face finally hahahhaha
      LOL!! damn it, you caught me >__<" he put up one so far, but i want to wait for him to send me more and i'll make one as my profile pic to see feedback on my "short" hair hehehe

  2. Pingback: New Haircut – Real Short! | Doll Up with Judy♥

Leave a Reply

