E.l.f. Studio Powder Brush and Studio Contour Brush Review

The other day while shopping at Target with my sister, I decided to pick up two E.l.f. brushes since I wanted to wash my other brushes and needed a back up to use while the other brushes dry. To my surprise, I ended up liking these brushes better than the ones I’ve been using!

E.l.f. Studio Powder Brush and Studio Contour Brush

First off, they are really inexpensive, which is a plus. Both brushes were only $3 + tax, and if you have a Target card you get 5% off, so it was less than $7 for two brushes.

Secondly, they are packaged individualy and provide nice sturdy packaging for easy storage. What’s even better, is the Powder Brush comes with a brush cover so it protects the bristles and helps keep its shape while protecting it from dust and such.

According to e.l.f’s webshop, both brushes were made out of the same material:

This new anti bacterial, synthetic haired Taklon brush is softer and more absorbent and can be used with wet or dry products. Be a professional makeup artist and create a flawless look with this e.l.f. studio brush!

I have to agree with their description, the brush is very soft and really does pick up the pigment of the powders really well. In fact, they feel softer against my skin than my Clinique, Forever21, Estée Lauder and L’Oreal brushes!

Powder brush with Tarte blush

Details from the e.l.f. webshop:

  • Creates a professional sculpted look
  • Full coverage color
  • Use for powder or blush for perfect contouring

*Vegan Friendly

Size comparison against my face

The Powder brush is definitely my favorite brush right now as it picks up the colors easily and blends so well on my face! It is slightly shaped (not a round, but more oval) so it really gives me a natural finish, and contours around the edge of my jawline reallyyy well. I use it for both blush and bronzer to contour my face. I’m really surprised at how soft and how well it blended the blush as compared to the brushes that came with the blushes I’ve been using. The size is also the right size, not too big that it makes big blotches of color, but not too small so that you have to spend forever applying the blush

Contour Brush with Bronzer

Details from e.l.f. webshop:

  • The domed bristles pick up a lot of color and deposit it onto the eyelid for extra definition
  • Adds depth close to the lash line and in the corner of the eye
  • Use to sweep colors along the lash lines for concentrated color*Vegan Friendly

Haha so I realized I’ve been using this brush for the wrong purpose, no wonder it didn’t blend as well as I would’ve liked as compared to the powder brush. However, it still worked pretty well! I’ve been using it to contour my nose with bronzer and highlight. It really did pick up the pigment and color really well (as you can see in my picture), and more so than the powder brush did. Since it’s a thinner brush, it was easy to only apply to the areas I needed. However, since it is domed in that way, it was much more concentrated so the bronzer was a bit strong. With patience I was able to blend the harsh lines out, though not as soft as the Powder Brush, but still quite natural at the end.

natural look with just blush and bronzer | full make up

Example pictures of the outcome. I tried contouring my face just slightly differently on my cheeks in these two images, but as you can see it looks really natural at the end and soft lines. I really enjoy using these brushes since it’s soft and nice feel to the skin, and has great outcomes.

Final verdict: 5/5 stars! Good value on such great brushes :3 (since it was my fault for using the contour brush wrong and it still came out good, I didn’t take off any points XD)

I would definitely recommend these brushes (which I already did to one of my friend haha!) and would love to pick up a few of their other brushes to try.

judyhime chan♥

By the way, this post reminded me of the e.l.f. model contest I’ve entered in haha I would really appreciate if you guys can vote for me! Thank you 😀 You can vote here

And I’ve been really addicted to the new kpop songs that came out, one being Big Bang’s come back BLUE. I love the lyrics that says “I was born and I met you. And I have loved you to death.” I wish to find a guy that I can say that to (just those lines, not the whole song hahaha). Anyways, hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

10 thoughts on “E.l.f. Studio Powder Brush and Studio Contour Brush Review

  1. I’m glad we live near a Target – they have so many useful things ^^ I was thinking about getting those brushes too but I don’t wear make up too often so I got the $1 eyeshadow brushes instead. Hmm, maybe I’ll try one of the studio brushes one day =]

    lol That’s another thing you can add to your list of qualities for a boyfriend ;P

    • Haha I totally agree! Do you have the Target card?? It’s so great that it saves you 5% 😀 Oh is the $1 soft?? I know I tried it on you, but since it was touching your skin I wouldn’t know haha XD

      Haha omg my list is way too long now then 😛

      • The $1 is soft but probably not as soft as yours ^^; It’s pretty easy to clean though so it’s good ^^ I don’t have the Target card; I wish they had a points card instead because I’d have a lot of points by now lol

        hahaha you should have it in a drop list format – list the categories and then when you click it, all the details are shown XD

      • Ah, that’s good ^_^ you should definitely try their studio! I just ordered from e.l.f. yesterday and will be getting three free mineral brushes, so I’ll try to review those too, so you can see if you’ll prefer their studio or mineral line to try next hehe

        LMAO! they should!!! but the 5% off is pretty good still haha, you save instantly XD

        haha poor guy has to be prefect XD jp~

Leave a Reply

